SHOW BNW EBAY

Brave New Worlds

The Best Comic Shops in the Philadelphia Area!

God Somewhere examines psychology of power

Posted by Eric On June - 11 - 2010


Fans of Miracleman and Irredeemable will discover somewhat familiar themes explored in John Arcudi and Peter Snejbjerg’s original graphic novel A God Somewhere.

What makes this book unique is that it focuses on the relationships between the characters both before and after an unexplainable event that makes one of them more than human.  If you were suddenly given god-like power, what would you do with it?  Would you question its origins and search for a purpose, or would you give in to any and all impulses that cross your mind?  Do the rules and conventions of human society even apply to you anymore?  This tale is told primarily from the perspective of the main character’s best friend, and is equally concerned with how his life is altered when swept up in the maelstrom that results.  The event is treated like a natural disaster, and its aftermath is felt on both an individual and a societal level.  A God Somewhere is thought-provoking and insightful.  I recommend it highly.

Add your comment